"Be still and cool in thine own mind and spirt" - George Fox

History

image28

Quakers from Cape Cod and Little Compton, RI settled in the coastal areas of Old Rochester in the 1680s. Their first meeting house was built in 1701 in Sippican, now Marion, and replaced by the present one built in 1827 in Aucoot.


The four-square building in its simplicity of design stands as testimony to Quaker principles.